make this: diy match strike votive

Sometimes the best projects are quick and easy and today I’m sharing a fun one. In a never-ending effort to declutter our apartment (and make it purty!), I’m always looking for ways to decant things into pretty containers. For the most part, labels = lots and lots of visual clutter. So, I made this cute match strike votive.

10-minute-match-strike-votive-promo

Let me explain. I love me some candles. They immediately make me feel more relaxed and candle light makes everything look amazing, so you’ll find them everywhere in 816. What’s not pretty? Boxes of matches or those long lighters. So I turned some glass thrift store votives into a cute matches storage with an awesome twist! I put the striking texture on the bottom of the votive! Grab your match, strike, and bam! Your candle is lit. (Okay maybe it’s not that exciting but it’s still pretty cool.)

Here are the steps to this quick project!

diy-match-strike-votive-tutorial-2

Easy-peasy, lemon squeezy. It’s not a huge renovation or super crafty project, but it fixed a problem (removing the clutter of labels), made something a little more stylish (always the goal), and it is dang fun to just strike a match on the bottom of that glass. I’ve got three votives around the apartment for easy lightning quick candle lighting… you know, in case you need mood lighting stat!

What are your favorite quick and easy projects?

3 thoughts on “make this: diy match strike votive

  1. Great idea! Matches are surprisingly pretty in large enough quantities! I do have to admit, I was a little confused about where the striking paper was – I thought it was at the bottom of the votive on the INSIDE. So I was very concerned that when you lit one match they would all light causing a giant fireball. So I’m glad that you were MUCH smarter than that & placed the paper under the votive! 🙂
    Sarah

  2. What a great idea! I cannot wait to do this for our candles in our master bedroom. Usually we hide the matches away but this quick project makes something boring into something beautiful!

Leave a comment