hi valentine!

February is here! Which means that the day for all things love is swiftly approaching. (Valentine’s day, people!) And to get us in the spirit of hearts and chocolates and warm feelings, I’m sharing our Valentine’s décor!

With the exception of Christmas (where all bets are off), I think just a sprinkling of festivity is perfect for any holiday. In most cases I use things that I’ve already got around the house to create little vignettes and maybe throw in a couple of easy, inexpensive crafty projects and then call it a day. Quick and easy swaps are the name of the game!

valetines-decor

With a circle punch, some twine, and all the pink paper I could scrounge up, I made this festive confetti garland to drape over our bookcase.

I also added the red, mini cake plate filled with pink tissue paper into our bookcase accessories and the red and white striped ribbon on the candle vase transitioned perfectly from Christmas to Valentine’s.

valentines-confetti-garland In our rotating frames in the dining room, I hung one of my vintage scarves with a gorgeous pink and red floral pattern. And next to that, I whipped up a cheeky print in photoshop and had it printed up at staples. (I actually found that idea from DESIGNLOVEFEST on Pinterest and just happened to have that same font on my computer so I fashioned one of my own!).

Valentines-Day-Print

And, remember those cute painted wood ornaments I made for our Christmas tree? That I then turned into magnets? Well, I went ahead and made another variation. I found these awesome wooden heart shapes at Hobby Lobby and decided to make some love-y magnets especially for this month. Just a little craft paint and those self-adhesive magnets is all it takes!
Painted-Heart-Magnets-Valentines

In a stroke of luck, we discovered that our front door is actually magnetic, so I used these cute little hearts to hang up tiny love notes for Josh to see as he leaves in the morning.
Painted-Heart-Magnets-Valentines-2

Just a few little tweaks made our apartment v-day ready! For us, February is a big month. We celebrate Valentine’s, our half anniversary, and Josh’s birthday! So extra little touches of appreciation and mushy-ness go a long way!

Did you decorate for Valentine’s day? Do you have any traditions or fun activities planned? Share with us!!

2 thoughts on “hi valentine!

Leave a Reply

