make this: faux cork vase

I signed up for a blogging course. To be more specific I signed up for the super awesome Business of Blogging course taught by A Subtle Revelry’s Victoria Hudgens. Today ends week one and just having the opportunity to really dig deep into TLC and focus on doing this thing right is really amazing. January was the perfect time to sign up, too. I’ve got all this momentum from the new year and I am ready to tackle those projects that have been loitering around on my to-do list and dream up new ones to share!

One of the assignments from this first week was to spend one hour doing something inspirational. While I would normally be tempted to run out and buy some new craft supplies or materials for a project, I decided to take a different approach this time. I spent this hour (plus a few more) organizing my craft closet and making something using only what I already have.

At first it was a little intimidating trying to pull a project out of thin air, but the deeper I dug into my closet the more I found and the more stuff kept popping into my head. (You’ve seen these office photos right? The mess is outstanding! I should get a medal of bravery for diving in!)We’re at the stage where mostly everything that our apartment needs to be “complete” is décor and style. So I’ve got lots of room for the fun stuff!

And to commemorate an hour of inspirational activity, today I’m sharing an easy, free five minute project made from only things I already had on hand. Make this faux cork vase!
Make This Faux Cork Vase copy

1.       All I need was a leftover piece of cork (from this jewelry frame project), a hot glue gun, and a vase. I also pulled out a silk flower bouquet that I made last spring to top off the project but you could easily go with real flowers or even leave it empty. Whatever works for you!

2.       Wrap the cork snuggly around your vase and hot glue to seal! I actually used a square vase (because I had it on hand!) and the cork is sturdy enough to keep a round shape, so you can really use anything! Maybe even recycled cans leftover from dinner!

3.       And to finish it, I just added an extra line of hot glue on the seam to make sure it was snug against the vase.

Done! Gorgeous! And 100% free!Cork Vase Cover Up (8) copy

I think I might also wrap a little length of twine around it too! To hang a small photo or maybe even a nice quote. It’d be something lovely to wake up to in the morning!

So here’s to spending less and creating more! I challenge you to make something with only the materials you have available at home! Feel free to share links and details below!!

2 thoughts on “make this: faux cork vase

  1. Love this idea — btw I’m doing the course right now too and am finding that it’s giving me a ton of inspiration and motivation to work and implement all of my goals. Hope you’re enjoying it as much as I am 🙂

Leave a Reply

