tutorial: tips for planning your gallery wall

Gallery walls are a fun way to take up large amounts of visual wall space and display a lot of different things like prints, art, postcards, or photos. And, if you’re on a budget, it can be done for little to no cash. But I think that a lot of people are intimidated by the notion of putting a whole bunch of holes in the wall. Well, I come bearing solutions! Here are a few easy tricks to make hanging your frames as simple as possible.

1. Plan ahead: I’m sure this goes without saying, but going at your wall without a plan will inevitably end in heartache. Take the time to plan out your vision. I start by laying everything out of the floor in front of the wall I’m planning. It’s a non-committal way to experiment with placement, different frames, etc. I also recommend taking a picture of your layout to keep it fresh in your mind.

*Pardon the super great cell phone picture*

2. Use paper cutouts to plan on the wall: This is a tried and true trick. Since we had just moved, we had a plethora of newspaper lying around. I simply traced the frames I decided to include in the gallery and cut out the shape. Use the frame to mark the nail hole to make nail placement even easier. I used painters tape to hang up the cutouts.

3. Post-its are your friend: Once I had my cutouts on the wall, I used post-its to plan out the frame colors and the art inside them. For this particular gallery, I planned on changing the colors of some frame to make it less matchy-matchy. I wanted to make sure that no same colors were too close and that the art didn’t clash with the frame I put it in. The letter (N,P,W,G) are the colors of the frames and below is the contents. Just another way to plan everything out before breaking out the hammers.

From here you’re ready to hang! With the nail holes marked on your cutouts, there will be minimal guess work involved. On a few frames, I went one step further and bought some Command Picture Hanging Strips. They were just a few bucks per package at Target. They were super easy to use and will peel right off when it’s time for the frames to come down. How many you use per frame depends on the weight of it. For the large center frame, I used four, two for the mirror, and just one for the small pink frame on the top left. These are a really great solution for apartment dwellers as well!

And the finished product: a well-hung gallery wall. That sounds a little dirty, but you know what I mean. I’ll be back tomorrow to share our finished product.

 Do you have any other photo hanging tips? Share below!

One thought on “tutorial: tips for planning your gallery wall

  1. Pingback: livinin’ up our living room: our finished gallery wall « Two Live Colorfully

Leave a Reply

