BOTM: Review Start Something That Matters + March Read

Today, we keep moving with my new year’s resolution to read 12 books in 2012.

Truth be told I actually finished Start Something That Matters by TOMS Chief Shoe Giver Blake Mycoskie around the second week of February, but school has kept me just busy enough to keep from updating the blog about this at all.

But make no mistake, this book is a really amazing read! Perfect for an aspiring entrepreneur like me, this book preaches turning something that you are truly passionate about into your occupation. I think one of my biggest concerns about moving into the ‘real world’ from college is how long I’ll be stuck with a J-O-B; something that pays the bills but doesn’t do much else for my spirit. (Too cheesy?)

Like last month, there were a few short passages from this book that stood out and that I want to share with you:

“When you go back to your core motivations, you affirm the authenticity of your project, which takes away on of the biggest fears: that you are a fraud.”

“Early on in TOM’S Shoe Drops, I (like countless others before) noticed that the people we met who seemed the happiest were most often those who possessed the least. The kids in the rural areas we visited, who owned little, often radiated a kind of joy about life that we saw far less frequently in the urban areas. The more I thought about this, the more obvious it seemed: Complicated lives and heaps of possessions don’t necessarily bring happiness; in fact, they can bring the opposite.”

The last one especially got me thinking, how many times have I looked around at our apartment and marveled at the sheer amount of crap we have accumulated. Yes, a lot of it has meaning to either Josh or me, but the fact of the matter is we could live a wonderful life with less than half of the stuff we own. I feel like a smaller lifestyle would be a good fit for me, especially down the road when we buy a house. Do we really need the 4 bedroom, 2000+ sq. ft. home when a smaller home would be just as efficient and less expensive?

And, while this book seems to be directed more towards those searching for a calling or looking to open their start their own endeavor, I really believe it would be a beneficial read for anyone. Even if it’s only to read the stories about the early days of a lot of now-famous companies that are included in addition to the TOMS story.

For March, I’ve chosen The Commitment by Dan Savage, creator of the It Gets Better project. If you’re not familiar with Dan or the It Gets Better project, please, please go check it out. Dan is a gay man who started a worldly successful campaign by posting a YouTube video to reach out to LGBT youth and let them know that life gets better, that there is nothing wrong with being LGBT, and that ending a life is a tragedy when there is so much life has to offer.

Dan Savage spoke at UNT for an Equality Conference and Josh and I were lucky enough to attend. He’s funny and genuine, and what he has done has already reached so many people and saved so many lives.

So, I’m really excited to read this book and share it with you! Want to see what I’ve been ready this year? You can check out other BOTM posts here, here, and here.

One thought on “BOTM: Review Start Something That Matters + March Read

  1. Pingback: BOTM: Dan Savage’s The Commitment + April’s Read « Two Live Colorfully

Leave a Reply

