Make Your Decor Multi-Task! {tutorial}

When I shared my Valentine’s Day mantle, I mentioned that I had made some “jackets” for the cone trees in the display. I know that those are really really popular these days but that doesn’t mean I’m going to buy different ones for each season. A few years ago I bought 3 silver cone trees, all in different sizes, in a super after-Christmas sale. For this year’s holiday display, I pulled out the trees again, but I really craved a different look. So, I dressed them up with some spiffy jackets.

Here’s a look at my silver trees all dressed up in our winter mantle and even this year’s Valentine’s Day display.

There are super easy to make and 100% customizable, so I can make as many “jackets” as I need for any holiday. The best part? You can probably do this without buying a single thing (apart from the actual cones, if you don’t already have them). So, let’s get started!

For this project you’ll need a relatively sturdy paper (I used the brown kraft paper that I use for wrapping gifts), tape, hot glue gun, scissors, and whatever decorative items you want to use to dress up your tree.

First, you’ll want to create a cone shape from the paper that fits your tree size. I just cut out a large square, wrapped my tree completely, taped it off, and then cut the excess.



Now, you’re ready to decorate (this is turning out to be a quick tutorial, huh?).

For this how-to, I shot some pictures of my yarn-wrapped tree, which is a part of my V-Day mantle, but you can seriously use anything. Also, in our February display, I have a large cone tree covered in a matching black and white striped coat (made with fabric left over from our sexy wreath). For this past Christmas display, I ruffled the tree jacket with some fabric left over from our DIY Christmas Tree skirt. You could dress it up with pretty scrapbooking paper, or even let your kiddos go at it with a blank canvas and some stickers. It is 100% up to you.

When the holiday is over, just slip off the “jacket” and start over again. Plus, if you’re careful, you can even save them for future use. My fabric wrapped jackets are pretty sturdy, so I just gently crease them in half and store them in a Ziploc bag. They will stay nice and pop right back into shape for their next use.

And there you have it; a super simple, super cheap way to get more out of some of your seasonal décor.

How do you make your decor multi-task? Share any fun tips and/or tricks below!

I’m sharing at:

Weekend Bloggy Reading

3 thoughts on “Make Your Decor Multi-Task! {tutorial}

  1. Pingback: Love is in the air… and all over the mantle! « Two Live Colorfully

  2. Pingback: Love is a Many Spledored Thing – {Valentine’s Inspiration Board} « Two Live Colorfully

  3. Pingback: Our Bright and Colorful Spring Mantle « Two Live Colorfully

Leave a Reply

