Let’s Hear It For The Boys – Get Your Guy Involved in Home Decor!

It seems like these days men are made out to be these “dopey” companions that don’t quite understand what’s going on. I’m sure, at some point in time you’ve seen a commercial where the wife is snickering and rolling her eyes at her husband because he is doing something silly.

Well, I’m here to say that my husband is not a doofus. And when it comes to the design of our home, I want it to be apparent that Josh and I live there, not just me.

via

Now, of course, it’s also important to know that Josh is nowhere near as interested in home-y things as I am. So, to fish out styles and ideas that he likes, I let him flip through my Pinterest page whenever he is up for it. He can scroll through everything that I’ve pinned on my “Dream Home” board (or any of the categories) and say what he likes and what he doesn’t like.

via

If he finds something that strikes his fancy, then he can pin it on a special “Josh Likes” board. Be it design or clothing, anything he likes he can pin it there. (All photos in this post are things that have been given his stamp o’ approval.) And, I’ve already learned a lot. For instance, Josh likes lighter colors for walls but hates big white spaces. Darker woods and clean lines are also a go. And while, I definitely have different tastes, I’ve found that there are a lot of things we both agree on.

via

So, here are a few tips to get your guy involved in the process:

1. Let him get involved when he wants to be involved. In other words, don’t try to cram tile/carpet/paint samples down his throat and expect him to be excited. In order to find out what he’s really into (decorating-wise of course), let him have the freedom to do it when he feels like. Maybe, if he peeks over your shoulder while your busy pinning or hand him a catalog to look at in his spare time (Josh likes the CB2 catalogs). Either way, he’ll be more into giving input if it comes up organically.

2. Once he does get involved, don’t make fun of his choices. There will always be differences in opinion between any two people, so, for example, if he does point out a photo online that he likes, don’t shoot it down. As him why he likes it (clean lines? darker colors?) and keep those notes in mind when decorating your home. I’m not saying, to only follow what he likes, but try to incorporate his tastes in with yours.

3. And lastly, if he gives you 100% control, STILL keep his preferences in mind. He may say that he is 100% giving you the reigns when it comes to decorating, but that does not mean he wants to live in the frilly, french boudoir style you love. I can pretty much guarantee that he will be uber thankful if you keep him in mind when designing your home, even if it’s just in some manly accessories or art.

via

As for us, when the time comes for us to buy a house and then make it our own, I will fully expect some arguments about color schemes, furniture placement, and definitely something about his Star Wars poster, but just having some sort of idea of his style makes me feel more confident. If we agree to hold out to find something that both of us love, then it’s guaranteed to be a win-win.

How do you get your partner involved in the design of your home? Or do they leave it up to you? Share below

Today I’m sharing at:

Life Made Lovely
Lines Across My Face
Sumo’s Sweet Stuff

Home Stories A2Z
2 thoughts on “Let’s Hear It For The Boys – Get Your Guy Involved in Home Decor!

  1. I LOVE this post, mainly because my man and I disagree a LOT on what we like in home decor. Your suggestions are awesome, I’m going to start a “my man likes” pinterest page just like you did with your husband! It’s a great starting point, because i only know what he doesn’t like lol!

Leave a Reply

